When it comes to a DWI in Houston, then you are facing some serious charges. In fact, you will face a suspension of your license as well as a serious fine and even jail time from your FIRST offense with alcohol and driving related matters. DWIs are not something to be taken lightly anywhere in the USA but especially not in Harris County.
When it comes to the facts on DWIs in Harris County and in Texas, then you need to understand the serious implications that come with being charged with a DWI in Texas. Listed here are some of the facts about a DWI from a Houston DWI lawyer:
- Under Texas law, you can get a DWI if your blood alcohol level is 0.08 or higher.
- You can also be termed intoxicated if you don’t have the normal use of your physical self or your mind while you are driving from the consumption of drugs or alcohol.
- If you are under the age of 21, then you can’t drive with any amount of alcohol in your body.
- If you are a commercial driver, then you can be charged with a DWI if your blood alcohol content is .04 or higher.
- There are many methods that a law enforcement officer can use in order to determine if you are drunk or under the influence. Some of these methods include roadside tests, field sobriety tests, the use of a breathalyzer, and a blood alcohol content test.
- If you are convicted with your first DWI then you will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and can face anywhere from 72 hours to 180 days in jail. You can also face license suspension from anywhere from 90 days to 365 days. You can also be charged up to $2,000 in fines.
- If you are convicted with your first DWI but have a blood alcohol content level over 0.15, then you can be faced with a class A misdemeanor and jail time ranging from 72 hours to one year in jail. You can also face up to a $4,000 fine as well as a driving suspension of a year.
- If you are convicted of your first DWI but had an open container in your car, then you can be charged with a $2,000 fine and a driving suspension for up to a year as well as up to 180 days of jail time!
- If you have a second DWI then you can face fines up to $4,000 and up to one year in jail as well as up to two years of driving suspension!
- If you have a third DWI, then you will be charged with a felony and will go to jail for a long time.
As you can see, there are many charges that come along with Houston based DWIs and it is important to find the right Houston DWI attorney when dealing with alcohol charges that are related to driving under the influence. If you have just had your first violation or are dealing with a violation of your probation, then you will want to get this resolved with the right lawyer.
You can start by contacting the experts over at Thiessen Law Firm if you have any further questions.